Skip to Main Content

VetSuccess

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs’ VetSuccess on Campus (VSOC) Program serves as the on-campus face for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

FIU VSOC counselor is available for consultation and support in order to assist student veterans, their family, and dependents using VA benefits with the following:

  • VA educational benefits
  • Understanding and applying for Veteran Readiness and Employment Service (Chapter 31)
  • Vocational exploration and career counseling services (Chapter 36)
  • Information on college credit for military experience and training
  • Information on applying for other VA benefits to include disability compensation, life insurance, and home loan guaranty
  • Assistance with electing healthcare benefits through the Veterans Health Administration
  • Information and referrals to VA medical and mental health services
  • Referrals to the local Vet Center for readjustment counseling services
  • Referrals to on-campus, community, and VA resources to ensure academic success
  • Guidance and support while using VA educational benefits
  • Employment information and assistance
  • Student Veteran peer mentoring and tutoring services

Registration Form

Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success

The Office of Veteran and Military Affairs was the recipient an Office of Post-Secondary Education grant to establish a Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success. This funding was provided to increase persistence, retention, and graduation rates of student Veterans at FIU. It will also develop processes and procedures to track employment rates of student Veterans at FIU in partnership with the Office of Career & Talent Development. Additionally, the Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success developed a team program to support Veterans in postsecondary education by coordinating services to address the academic, financial, physical, and social needs of Veteran students.

Veterans Student Support Team Members

Academic Support Initiatives & Services April Lewisalewis@fiu.edu
Career & Talent DevelopmentJohn Sothamjsotham@fiu.edu
Career & Talent DevelopmentLuis Sotolusoto@fiu.edu
Center for Leadership and ServicePatricia Lopez-Guerreroteminop@fiu.edu
Counseling & Psychological ServicesLilliane Farinazolfarinaz@fiu.edu 
Disability Resource CenterGeneva Munozgnmunoz@fiu.edu
Office of AdmissionsCaesar Ramoscmramos@fiu.edu
Office of EngagementAnthony Teagueateague@fiu.edu
OneStop Enrollment ManagementDrew Golburghdgolburg@fiu.edu
Orientation & Family ProgramsCarol Galladiancakinmad@fiu.edu
Student Financials Jessy Salgadojlosalga@fiu.edu 
Student Financials (BBC)Donna de Cordovadonna.decordova@fiu.edu
Student Health & WellnessChad Pierrechapierr@fiu.edu
Student Veterans of America – FIU Chaptersva@fiu.edu
Veteran & Military AffairsAlessandra Krause alkrause@fiu.edu
Veteran & Military AffairsLuis Restrepolrestrep@fiu.edu
Veteran & Military AffairsPhillip Lloyd Hamiltonphami001@fiu.edu 
Veteran & Military AffairsRosa Ore rtore@fiu.edu 
U.S. Department of Veteran AffairsMarquay Smithmarquay.smith@va.gov

Contact

All students are encouraged to submit documentation and questions to veterans@fiu.edu with their full name and Panther ID.

Office of Veteran and Military Affairs
11200 SW 8th Street, TWR 100
Miami, FL 33199
305-348-2838