Skip to Main Content

VetSuccess

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs’ VetSuccess on Campus (VSOC) Program serves as the on-campus face for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

FIU VSOC counselor is available for consultation and support in order to assist student veterans, their family, and dependents using VA benefits with the following:

  • VA educational benefits
  • Understanding and applying for Veteran Readiness and Employment Service (Chapter 31)
  • Vocational exploration and career counseling services (Chapter 36)
  • Information on college credit for military experience and training
  • Information on applying for other VA benefits to include disability compensation, life insurance, and home loan guaranty
  • Assistance with electing healthcare benefits through the Veterans Health Administration
  • Information and referrals to VA medical and mental health services
  • Referrals to the local Vet Center for readjustment counseling services
  • Referrals to on-campus, community, and VA resources to ensure academic success
  • Guidance and support while using VA educational benefits
  • Employment information and assistance
  • Student Veteran peer mentoring and tutoring services

Registration Form

Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success

The Office of Veteran and Military Affairs was the recipient an Office of Post-Secondary Education grant to establish a Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success. This funding was provided to increase persistence, retention, and graduation rates of student Veterans at FIU. It will also develop processes and procedures to track employment rates of student Veterans at FIU in partnership with the Office of Career & Talent Development. Additionally, the Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success developed a team program to support Veterans in postsecondary education by coordinating services to address the academic, financial, physical, and social needs of Veteran students.

Veterans Student Support Team Members

Assistant Vice President and Interim VMA Director

Anthony DeSantis, Ph.D.

adesanti@fiu.edu

FIU’s Office of Admissions

Caesar Ramos

cmramos@fiu.edu

FIU’s VetSuccess On Campus Counselor

Marquay Smith

marquay.smith@va.gov

Program Manager for the Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success

TBA

 

Academic Coordinator for the Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success

Alessandra Krause

 alkrause@fiu.edu

Student Financials Services - Assistant Director

Monica Ochoa

mnochoa@fiu.edu

Office of Enrollment Management - Assistant Director

Drew Golburgh

dgolburg@fiu.edu

Orientation & Family Programs Program Manager

Carol Galladian

cakinmad@fiu.edu

Disability Resource Center Access Consultant

Geneva Munoz

gnmunoz@fiu.edu

Counseling and Psychological Services Psychology Post Doc Fellow

Dr. Robert Campbell

robcampb@fiu.edu

Office of Career & Talent Development Career Specialist

John Sotham

jsotham@fiu.edu

Office of Career & Talent Development Employer Relations Specialist

Luis Soto

lusoto@fiu.edu

Center for Leadership and Services Program Manager

Bianca Bovo

bbovo@fiu.edu

Office of Engagement Program Manager

Anthony Teague

ateague@fiu.edu

Student Health & Wellness Program Manager

Chad Pierre

chapierr@fiu.edu

Center for Academic & Career Success Program Manager - Advising

April Lewis

alewis@fiu.edu

President of the Student Veterans of America – FIU Chapter

 

sva@fiu.edu

Program Coordinator and School Certifying Official

Luis Restrepo

lrestrep@fiu.edu

Student Financials - Accounting Manager at BBC

Donna de Cordova

donna.decordova@fiu.edu

Center for Academic & Career Success Program Manager - Coaching

Christina Chong

chchong@fiu.edu

Contact

All students are encouraged to submit documentation and questions to veterans@fiu.edu with their full name and Panther ID.

Office of Veteran and Military Affairs
11200 SW 8th Street, TWR 100
Miami, FL 33199
305-348-2838