## FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY'S REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. COMMEMORATIVE BREAKFAST KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

32 <sup>nd</sup> Annual	2023
Illyasah Shabazz, Daughter of Malcolm X	2025
Professor and Author	
31 <sup>st</sup> Annual	2022
Dr. Eddie Glaude, Jr., New York Times Bestselling Author &	
Chair of Princeton's Department of African American Studies	
30 <sup>th</sup> Annual	2021
Dr. Bernice King, Minister, Attorney &	
Daughter of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.	
29 <sup>th</sup> Annual	2020
Yusef Salaam, Civil Rights Activist	2020
Member of the "Exonerated Five"	
28 <sup>th</sup> Annual	2019
Donovan Livingston, Award-Winning Educator, Spoken Word Poet, Public Speaker	
27th Annual	2018
Valarie Kaur, Civil rights activist, lawyer, award-winning filmmaker	
26th Annual	2017
Charles Bonner, Civil Rights Trail Lawyer	2017
The Law Offices of Bonner& Bonner	
25th Annual	2016
Marian Wright Edelman, Founder and President	
Children's Defense Fund	
	2015
24th Annual	2015
Farai Chideya, Award-Winning Author, Journalist, Professor, and Lecturer	
23rd Annual	2014
<b>Dr. Clarence B. Jones</b> , Visiting Professor, University of San Francisco	2011
22nd Annual	2013
Mary Francis Berry, Professor of American Social Thought and Professor of History,	
University of Pennsylvania	
21st Annual	2012
Alvin Poussaint, Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School	
20th Annual	2011
Patricia Russell-McCloud, J.D., Motivational Speaker and Author	2011
19th Annual	2010

Dr. Michael Eric Dyson, Author and Professor of Sociology, Georgetown University	
18th Annual Dr. Julianne Malveaux, President of Bennett College for Women	2009
17th Annual <b>Dr. Benjamin Carson,</b> Director of Pediatric Nuero-surgery – Johns Hopkins Medical Institution	2008
16th Annual Julian Bond, Chair, NAACP	2007
15th Annual <b>Kweisi Mfume</b> , Former President, NAACP	2006
14th Annual <b>The Honorable Andrew Young</b> Former Mayor of Atlanta	2005
13th Annual Myrle Evers-Williams, Chair Emeritus, NAACP and Civil Rights Activist	2004
12th Annual Samuel Betances, Ed.D. Professor Emeritus, Northeastern University	2003
11th Annual Hans J. Massaquoi, former Ebony Managing Editor, Author of the book Destined to Witness	2002
10th Annual <b>Patricia Russell-McCloud, J.D.</b> , President, Russell-McCloud & Associates Author, A is for Attitude	2001
9th Annual Reverend Bernice A. King, Atlanta, GA, Author of: Hard Questions, Heart Answers	2000
8th Annual Bob Zellner, History Professor, Tulane University, SNCC member	1999
7th Annual Patricia Russell-McCloud, J.D., President, Russell-McCloud & Associates	1998
6th Annual Jesse McCrary, Senior Partner, McCrary & Mosley Law Firm	1997
5th Annual <b>Dr. Gregory Williams</b> , President, City College of New York, Author, Life on the Color Line	1996
4th Annual <b>Susan L. Taylor</b> , Editorial Director, ESSENCE Magazine, Author of the book: In the Spirit	1995
3rd Annual Cornel West, Ph.D., Professor of Religion, Princeton University	1994

2nd Annual Frederica S. Wilson, Member Dade County Board of Education	1993
Inaugural MLK Breakfast Event Arthur E. Teele, Jr., City of Miami, Commissioner (Chairperson)	1992